1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Sexual Offenders

Discussion in 'Fred's House of Pancakes' started by Schmika, Aug 9, 2005.

1. Schmika

Schmika New Member

I just recently read a news article talking about a law in Florida that registered sex-offenders are banned from hurricane shelters. They will have to go to a local jail.

It made me think. Many of you know I am an active city cop. I am concerned that citizens get a "false" sense of security with many of these laws and regulations that purport to help them. I am not just talking about sex offenders, but I can use it to make a point.

Sex offenders are banned from shelters- result, people in shelters let down their guard because they are safe there. Does anyone think sex offenders have a big "S" on their forehead? Do police stand at the door the shelters checking every person through the crime computer?

Does anyone know how MANY sex offenders there are? The jails could not hold them on top of the locked up persons (we won't go into the "tough luck, let them drown" scenario)

Laws prohibit sex offenders from living within 1000 ft or more of a school. So if you live closer than that you are safe, because there is now a force field around you.

The VAST majority of sex crimes to children come from within your family or circle of friends. No LAW will keep them away if you invite them in.

Pedophiles are very discriminating. IF you are the kind of person who checks the web for registered offenders, you can't find out if the offenders close by are a risk to your specific child. If they like pre-pubescent boys, then your 14 yr old daughter is not at risk.

This same mindset works on homeland security (have you ever experienced the security guards who just "glance" in purses and bags). My wife's black .38 revolver is invisible at the bottom of her black purse.