1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Should I replace my Accord with a Prius

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by cdavid, Dec 20, 2005.

1. cdavid

cdavid Member

I've been eying a Prius for the last year, but I have a 2003 Honda Accord EX V6, leather, but no Nav. I drive mostly highway to work and back, about 25 miles each way.

The Honda is a nice car, and I average about 26mpg. My wife says to forget the Prius, but I keep eying that package 8 which the dealer will sell at MSRP, and is awaiting my $1000 non refundable deposit. They are reputable and we recently got a Sienna from them. I used to be an engineer, and love tech items, but I'm also very practical and find it hard to abandon a perfectly good, reasonably efficient, and paid for vehicle.

Then there's the color decision--but that's being ahead of myself.

2. Jack 06

Jack 06 New Member

Winters, CA: Prius capital of US. 30 miles W of S
    You know you're really asking for it don't you? This thread will be three miles long! :huh:

I'll start by asking what I think are "dealbreaker" questions:

1. why is your wife opposed? (e.g., practical concern, such as $ or 'just got a Sienna'---as opposed to "emotional"---just not interesting to her)

2. how bad is your itch? I'm guessing it's BIG, or you wouldn't be here. "used to be an engineer": retired? At a stage of life where you're rewarding yourself a bit?
    If so, most everyone's advice (as mine) will be: go f'rit!

3. the fish

the fish Member

I will be replacing a 98 Accord EXVL with an 06 pkg 5 in Jan/Feb. I looked at the new Accord and the Acura TL - neither gave me any spark like the Prius. After owning two Accords in 11 years, I am ready for a change.

Accords are great cars but so is the Prius. You can't go wrong.

4. GreenMachine

GreenMachine New Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    Yes!

The $3,100 tax credit tips the balance.

5. seasidetraveler