Sli2 won't charge my new 3G iPhone :(

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Audio and Electronics' started by aminorjourney, Jul 12, 2008.

  1. aminorjourney

    aminorjourney Mum to two prius!

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    335
    27
    0
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    :Cry:

    I know.... I know... I'm an apple geek and a Prius geek.

    But seriously.

    I purchased (or rather, was given a free upgrade) to a 3G iphone yesterday. I eagerly went into my car and plugged it into the Sli2 I've got installed in there and while the iPhone will interface and play music from the iPhone it refuses to charge!

    Anyone else get this issue with the new 3G iPhone? Just curious... :)

    I thought it worth posting here as I think quite a few owners here will have the same combination as I.

    Nikki.
     
  2. marcelo

    marcelo New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    4
    0
    0
    Same with the Dice Electronics Silverline. When the iPhone 3G is plugged into it, a message pops up that says the charger unit is not compatible.

    There is some chatter on the iPhone forums that the 3G does not work with first generation car chargers. I sure hope Dice offers a replacement cable soon.
     
  3. mcsenerd

    mcsenerd New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    37
    0
    0
    Location:
    Galveston, TX
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    I'm a huge Apple guy and a fellow Prius owner...but I'd like to interject one thing...

    :mad:THIS IS EXACTLY WHAT I HATE ABOUT APPLE:mad:!!!

    They do this crap just to continually screw with 3rd party accessory makers...and just because they can. They pulled this same sort of crap at least 3 times with the iPod line...I'm not at all surprised that they are doing the same thing with their silly phone products. (For all of my Apple loving...I'm still using my HTC Hermes and it does just what I need and I can do whatever I want with it)
     
  4. tongyang

    tongyang Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    21
    0
    0
    Location:
    Chantilly, VA
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Same here... really a bummer :(
     
  5. Joekc

    Joekc Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    265
    16
    8
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Simple -- just carry along a spare battery for your iPhone

    /oh yeah . . .
     
  6. Rangerdavid

    Rangerdavid Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2006
    1,362
    52
    0
    Location:
    Boone, North Carolina
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Three Touring
    Vias told me their new unit was fully compatible with the 3G iPod. Apparently not? huh..... well, Vias Tech is a member of this forum, I think I'll PM him a link to this thread and see if he can help..
     
  7. aminorjourney

    aminorjourney Mum to two prius!

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    335
    27
    0
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    It sounds a bit bad, but I'm glad I'm not the only one.

    I will try and find an upgrade dongle this week so I can upgrade the software on the Sli2 to the latest version, which although it won't fix this particular issue hopefully will enhance the user experience.

    In the meantime I'll always have to make sure the iPhone 3G is charged when I leave the house, or perhaps think about taking my Sli2 and putting it in Daphne, Kate's car. (She got my old iPhone when I got my free upgrade)

    Cheers,

    Nikki.
     
  8. tongyang

    tongyang Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    21
    0
    0
    Location:
    Chantilly, VA
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
  9. tongyang

    tongyang Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    21
    0
    0
    Location:
    Chantilly, VA
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Edit: double post
     
  10. aminorjourney

    aminorjourney Mum to two prius!

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    335
    27
    0
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Brilliant! I'm glad my post was listened to over there. Good tech support is something I really value in a company :)
     
  11. tongyang

    tongyang Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    21
    0
    0
    Location:
    Chantilly, VA
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    FYI - the upgrade cable has been out! I sent them an email asking about the price and it's $30. You have to call them up on the phone and order from there.
     
  12. aminorjourney

    aminorjourney Mum to two prius!

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    335
    27
    0
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Excellent!

    I'll be ordering one just as soon as they get to work (about 4pm my time I think)

    Nikki.
     
  13. tongyang

    tongyang Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    21
    0
    0
    Location:
    Chantilly, VA
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    It's on their online store too :eek: I ordered it there and it should arrive next Monday! Can't wait to be able to charge my phone in the car again...
     
  14. guster

    guster New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    17
    0
    0
    Do you have a link to the online store and the item?


     
  15. tongyang

    tongyang Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    21
    0
    0
    Location:
    Chantilly, VA
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
  16. bigj3347

    bigj3347 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    161
    0
    0
    Location:
    Hacienda Heights, Ca
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    does this cable work with the old vais aic100 ipod adapters?
     
  17. bigj3347

    bigj3347 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    161
    0
    0
    Location:
    Hacienda Heights, Ca
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    fwiw, I just called vais and they said the cable doesn't work with the aic-100i so for those of us with the older model ipod adapters . . . its either to wait for an aftermarket adapter or upgrade to the sli2-up
     
  18. tongyang

    tongyang Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    21
    0
    0
    Location:
    Chantilly, VA
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    In case anybody wondered... I finally got the time to have it installed today and the upgrade cable does exactly what you think it does: charge the phone :)
     
Loading...