1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Smart Key not Smart anymore

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by Kasia, Sep 6, 2015.

1. Kasia

Kasia Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Hi all (newbie here),

I've combed through Prius Chat and haven't found any thread with this exact problem/issue. I attempted to add a used "eBay" fob to my 2006 Prius. This did not work. What happened afterwards is that my SmartKey is no longer smart. The car will start if I have the key in the slot. The sensor no longer works. Any ideas on how to have my fob be smart again?

2nd issue: Any way to program the eBay fob's. I've heard Techstream and codes from online sources. I see Techsteam software on eBay for ~$15 BUT some state that they will not program keys. Anybody have had any luck programming hteir fobs for cheap??

Thank you!!!!!

2. bisco

bisco cookie crumbler

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    welcome! there are a few threads here, with many posts and advice. i think the main thing is, you need a new fob. try searching key words like 'key fob programming' and 'chicken dance', etc.

3. Kasia

Kasia Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    II
    sigh.. thanks Bisco.. I don't understand why I would need a new fob. It was working just fine until I did the chicken dance with it. I have searched priuschat and seems like noone has posted my specific issue.

4. bisco

bisco cookie crumbler

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    sorry, i didn't mean your old fob, i meant trying to program another one. i don't think you can program a used one. your old one probably just needs reprogramming.

5. Kasia

Kasia Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Any suggestions on how to reprogram the key myself??

6. bisco

bisco cookie crumbler

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model: