1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Smart Key

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by catsbox, Dec 8, 2005.

?
  1. Yes, always

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. Yes, sometimes

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. No, never. I keep it in my pocket or bag (or briefcase, whatever!)

100.0%
  4. Is that what that slot is for?

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. catsbox

catsbox Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Two
    :huh: I was getting into my Pri this morning and noticed the lights on each side of the slot where the smart key goes. Then I got to wondering, does anyone actually insert the smart key into the dash to start the car? Personally, I never do. I have noticed that some of the techs at the dealership do, and other's just leave it in the cup holder. (If I did this poll wrong, sorry. It's my first try!)

2. Rabid1

Rabid1 New Member

I gotta say, I LOVE MY SMART KEY!!!

3. B.D.T

B.D.T New Member

I always use the smart key (never put it in the dash). It is by far one of the best inventions to come out in a long time.

Britt

:)

4. mdmikemd

mdmikemd Member

Vehicle:
    2017 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    First thing I did after I handed the "keys" to my wife was disable the Smart Key. The dealer told us we couldn't lock the keys in the car, but I couldn't find any documentation to support that...granted I didn't look to hard. I just figured for her sake, easier to just continue old habits, it was hard enough trying to teach her to drive the thing.

5. Tideland Prius

Tideland Prius Moderator of the North
    Staff Member

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    Smart Key is always on =). I'll put it in the slot only if I have it in hand already and don't feel like putting it back in my pocket. Also, it's good for ACC mode since removing the fob turns the car off, instead of pushing the POWER button twice.

6. TidelandTravis

TidelandTravis New Member