1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Smell of Exhaust Fumes in Prius Cab

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by handwich, Mar 3, 2006.

1. handwich

handwich New Member

Hello All,

I am new to this chat, and after some research online, couldn't find exactly the information i was looking for. Forgive me if this exists somewhere else within this forum, but am in quick need to identify if I have a problem with my Prius.

Sometimes, when driving, I have the distinct smell of exhaust entering the cab of my Prius. I have taken steps to ensure that my vents are not open and recycling the air of the outside fumes/exhaust upon the highway. Wondering if anyone else has heard of this or experienced the same?

Should add that its a 2005 Prius, with just over 7,000 miles on it.

Any help, comments and/or suggestions would be of great benefit!

Thanks,
    M.

2. Howard

Howard New Member

I would play it safe and take it back to Toyota to see what they have to say. Also you might stop into a muffler shop for an inspection.

3. ezride

ezride New Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    I
    I purchased a new 2010 Prius in March and since October first had intermittent then consistent issues with strong gas fumes in the car. It was diagnosed by the dealer as somehow having been overfilled; somehow gas got into the tubes that are next to the filler neck which recycles fumes to a carbon filled canister. Raw gas got to the canister, and I was told that it will "take time to work itself out". Meantime the fumes, while less severe made my wife and I sick for nearly two months. The dealer - - and Corporate refuse to fix the problem as a warranty issue.
    The Corporate office told me that other people have had this problem as well.