1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Software Mods/Specs ?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Audio and Electronics' started by egs, Mar 30, 2004.

1. egs

egs Junior Member

Does anyone have any documentation on the internal software applications and/or operating system that Toyota uses in their computers?

Being a software developer myself, I'd love to see some discussion on what is being used within the Prius and how 'hackable' the applications are. Does anyone know what OS is being used - maybe Linux?

Maybe some of the commercial developers (PriusXM, Coastal, etc.) can divulge some info to people that want to tinker inside too.

Thanks.

2. bookrats

bookrats New Member

Don't know about the Prius. From what I know about embedded software in other cars, the OSes are usually custom -- and usually pretty minimal. And they're built to be intentionally non-customizable by customers/owners -- legal and safety reasons.

However, as more cars become signficantly more "software-driven" (ouch! :roll:), having a software environment that supports many different requirements (many co-dependent on other requirements) is going to be important for the developers themselves, and (to a lesser extent) for service people.

I wish I was down at the Embedded Systems Conference in San Francisco this week -- I bet there would be some great information along these lines being presented. (And if there wasn't, you could always talk to Wind River about VxWorks in the Mars Rover... 8) )

3. naterprius

naterprius Senior Member

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    VxWorks was what crashed in the Mars Rover? Wow! No wonder they had problems!

Nate

4. bookrats

bookrats New Member

To get an idea of how far away a widely-used embedded architecture (much less an OS) is for use in cars, take a look at this EE Times article on a proposed universal software system named Autosar, proposed by a consortium of German car makers.