1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Stealthing the Stealth Mode.

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by whitespider, Jul 23, 2007.

1. whitespider

whitespider Member

Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    Five
    Hello. New Prius driver. I'd like to start off by saying i'm no mechanic, but I am a computer technician, if that helps in anything i'm about to say.

I wanted to start this topic to get some brainstorming ideas and finally a complete idea of how to install the EV mode OEM button or Coastal Tech (is there any other? Seriously, is there?) Cruise Control switch for the Prius. It doesn't stop there, though, the ideas jump further into it by gathering together all information we need to hide this truth from Toyota if in the case of a Warrantee repair. We uninstall the switch and leave no evidence that it was ever there when taking it in to service. Is this possible? I guess we'll see.

Let the topic begin!!

I'll start off. Those of you with either of the switches, do you feel if you uninstalled them that you could leave your car with 0 traces of it ever having been there? Any Technicians out there please feel free to step in and help us in this insightful thread.

I, for one, want to leave this thread one day with the knowledge of having an OEM EV mode switch which I can just take out when I want to take my car in to servicing.

2. 9G-man

9G-man Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    1. Pop OEM switch out of dash and replace blank cover
    2 Remove wire-taps from dimmer wire.
    3. Slip connector (and wire) out of H14 Ecu plug.

10 min. max. Clean Sweep, Like to see 'em prove otherwise.

If I go to the dealer for anything, I'll pop the switch out and replace blank. 15 sec. max. I got some old credit card slivers that will unlatch the switch retaining clips with no dash disassembly.

3. Cheap!

Cheap! New Member