1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Still outshined by the Honda Insight !!

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Fuel Economy' started by Rangerdavid, Jun 9, 2007.

1. Rangerdavid

Rangerdavid Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Three Touring
    Met a guy at the vegetable market this afternoon driving a Honda Insight. Now there are many things I am still learning about my prius, and I've just gotten the hang of the P&G method which has helped me attain my best mileage yet. My last tank at 56 MPG here in the mountains was something I was really proud of.

But the Insight gentleman, who was a very nice guy, is getting 70 MPG up here !!! Dang, do the insights get that much better mileage?? well, apparently so... even though this guy stated that he "works at it", well so do I. I love my Prius and wouldn't trade it for anything. I even looked into the Insight when I was determining which Hybrid to Purchase, and I decided I needed a back seat.

Do Insight drivers pulse and glide also? I know Wayne won the hybrid challenge last year at the Hybridfest in an Insight I believe, but dang, 70 mpg in these mountains is very very good.

Anyway, just thought I post on a nice conversation with another "one of us" trying to do the right thing for himself, us, our mother earth as well as our country. Beautiful day to be driving around here in the mountains!! Hope everyone else is having a good weekend. Later. :D :D

2. efusco

efusco Moderator Emeritus
    Staff Member

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Did you ask him how it does with 3 passengers and camping gear for a week for all of them?! ;-{)

3. boulder_bum

boulder_bum Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Yes, the Insights unquestionably get better mileage, they're just not as practical: only two seats, no trunk to speak of, and no high-tech gagetry like the Prius.