1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

stock tire life expectancy?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by Adam Lee, May 22, 2008.

1. Adam Lee

Adam Lee Kung Pao Master

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Hey, I'm a newbie here....with my stock 2007 Prius, original tires with just at 10,000 miles (hiway), what can I expect from them as far as durability before replacement?

thanks!

Adam

2. qbee42

qbee42 My other car is a boat

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    I replaced mine at 8,000 miles, and should have done it earlier. The OEM tires are pretty poor.

Tom

3. F8L

F8L Protecting Habitat & AG Lands

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    I have over 30k on mine and the tread is still great. I've had them over 40psi for most of that time and lately I've had them at 60+psi.

I swaped back to my 17" wheels yesterday for some corner carving on my new commute.

4. qbee42

qbee42 My other car is a boat

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    A clarification: My OEMs were still in great shape at 8,000 miles, but they were still bad tires. I gave them to a Prius driver in California, where the roads are warm and dry.

Tom

5. Boo

Boo Boola Boola Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    The treadlife limited warranty for the Integrity is 50,000 miles.

I replaced mine at 1000 miles because I wanted wider and better tires.

6. DaveinOlyWA

DaveinOlyWA 3rd Time was Solariffic!!

Vehicle:
    2013 Nissan LEAF
    Model:
    Persona
    i think it all depends on how you drive. many here report the tires completely worn out after 25-30,000 miles while i have nearly that and they are still like new (less than 20% treadwear according to inspections done during oil changes) but we do little freeway driving... probably 20% and i think that is the contributing factor