1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Strange issue with Cassette adapter

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by ZitterZap, Mar 3, 2011.

1. ZitterZap

ZitterZap Member

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I am a newbie and have been driving my 2005 Prius for just a week. So I do not know all the intricate functions.
    This morning I took out my 3 year old cassette adapter (the cheap ones you usually buy in Walmart for 5 bucks) out of my old Jeep and put it in my Prius. I have a 6 speaker JBL sound system in the Prius.

I usually listen to podcasts from my iPhone and I have two issues to report.

First issue:
    The voice is too sharp. It hurts my ears. I tried messing up with the equalizer but that didn't help. I think I will go and try different adapters to solve this issue. But if anyone knows a good adapter or anything better then let me know.

Second issue:
    Only the speaker on the front left was having any sound although the settings on the audio screen was showing that the sound should be centered. When I tried moving the balance to the right speaker then only the right speaker will have any sound and the left speaker will go mute although I haven't changed the balance 100% to the right. The FM sounds fine and have audio in all speakers. Anyone else had this issue? Any setting I need to alter?

2. KK6PD

KK6PD _ . _ . / _ _ . _

Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    Well first off, cassette adapters are probably the WORST method of introducing external audio into any stereo! If you have the JBL SYSTEM, is there not a jack in the center console to to plug the headphone out of your device into the JBL???

It should work when you hit the AUX button.

I think both your issues are from the bad adapter unit.

3. liskipper

liskipper Member

Vehicle:
    2013 Prius
    Model:
    Three