1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Student Loan Scheme

Discussion in 'Fred's House of Pancakes' started by Jimmie84, Sep 2, 2010.

1. Jimmie84

Jimmie84 New Member

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
  2. jayman

jayman Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    I've known some who have defaulted on student loans - pretty scary

I got Uncle to pay for mine. Since I have a minor combat wound, we're even

3. eliteconcept

eliteconcept 700 mile club, top tank mpg 69.5

Vehicle:
    2022 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Limited
    It does suck. I agree. I hope to never be in the default situation with my loans, and the government and SallieMae are making a farking killing on students. However I do believe that some sense of responsibility needs to be put on the student who takes out the loan. Just like people who bought houses in 2004-2006 and couldn't afford them, sure the bank is partly to blame but the home owner must also accept responsiblity as well. This nation is quickly becoming one where if people don't like what they've gotten themselves into they can just walk away, regardless of a contractual obligation. Does a persons signature have any integrity or meaning anymore? If a student takes out 85k in student loans to go to school, well then they should be very aware that they will have to pay that back at some point. Now I do think that the government should make lenders like Sallie Mae provide more options for payback and give better interest rates. If the governement is backing this then for gosh sakes can we get the loans at least a rate that is cheaper than what people who are not trying to better themselves can get on a new car loan. Screwed up system for a screwed up government.

1 person likes this.
  4. cit1991

cit1991 New Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    When the government is making the loans, they pass their own special usury laws...big shocker.