1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Subaru WRX to a Prius

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Main Forum' started by Blaze_24, May 10, 2019.

1. Blaze_24

Blaze_24 New Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Hi all,

Noob here. I’m getting ready to pull the trigger here on a used 2010 Prius with 89k miles. As the title suggest I’m trading in my 2012 Subie WRX Premium.

My question and concern is about the two Prius’ I’m looking at is they both are two owner vehicles. My Subie is the same so I’m the third owner. Zero problems with it mechanically. Looking at the carfax’s histories for the Prius’ however both were maintained normally.

Obviously a one owner vehicle might be better than a two owner? Also, is there anything I need that’ll help me determine how much battery is left on the hybrid battery? (Noob question maybe, sorry). Since I live in CA is the battery warrantied up to 150k miles? I read that online not sure if true.

Thanks all!

Blaze

bisco likes this.
  2. bisco

bisco cookie crumbler

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    welcome!

first thing to be aware of is the egr circuit/oil burning/head gasket issues around 100k. search here for lots of info and experience.
    the battery is warranted for 10 years or 150k in cali, whichever comes first. so set aside 2-3k just in case.

all the best!(y)

3. Grit

Grit Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    Make sure your daily drive commute is more than 5 miles, any single trip shorter than that, WRX will be better.

Bay Stater and Montgomery like this.
  4. JimboPalmer

JimboPalmer Tsar of all the Rushers

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    If the Prius was initially sold in CARB state and is currently registered in one, yes, 150,000 miles or 10 years whichever comes first.

Bay Stater likes this.
  5. royrose

royrose Senior Member

Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid