1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Suspension and EGR cleaning — A retrospective

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Care, Maintenance & Troubleshooting' started by meter, Oct 30, 2023.

1. meter

meter New Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Prius 2012, 155k miles

A month ago, I wouldn’t have considered myself a “car” person. The most work I had ever done was an oil change. If you had asked me to point out the “intake manifold”, I wouldn’t have had a clue. Socket wrench? I might’ve been able to point one out. Yeah, kind of sad. I’m a programmer — computers are my wheelhouse, not cars (until now!).

I posted a while back about my suspension (replacing struts and shocks). After getting multiple opinions, I decided I was going to attempt the replacement myself (well, with my dad’s help).

While researching (primarily on PriusChat) I discovered “EGR cleaning” and, being the perfectionist that I am, decided that I was going to attempt that as well.

And damn, the more I read, the more things I discovered. What the hell is a PCV valve? What’s an intake manifold? EGR cooler? Oil catch can? Tie rods? Wheel bearings? Control arms?

So at the expense of my wife’s sanity, I spent the next few weeks obsessively researching both suspension and EGR cleaning. And I absorbed as much as I could. And holy crap — over the past two weeks, my dad and I did it all. Took about 20 hours of work. Pretty damn proud!

Specifically, we
    • Replaced struts and shocks (KYB)
    • Cleaned intake manifold
    • Cleaned EGR cooler, pipe, and valve
    • Replaced PCV valve
    • Oil change
    My fingers are so damn sore from twisting, pulling, and tightening! But I feel so badass. Now for some retrospecting…
    1. The hardest part, at least for me, was removing hoses, followed by plastic fasteners.