1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

suspension mods advice: sportivo + tom's

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Accessories & Modifications' started by shispeed, May 20, 2007.

1. shispeed

shispeed New Member

Hi all, i'm a newbie owner of 2006 looking to improve handling. From reading the forums these look like the key candidates:

+ TRD Sportivo Supsension Kit ($990)
    + TOM'S Front Suspension Brace (front) ($295)
    + TOM'S Lower Body Brace (rear) ($525)
    + TOM'S Upper Stablizer (strut) ($290)
    + TOM'S Floor Strengthening Brace (middle) ($325)

My question for you experts: if i didn't want to do all of these mods, could I do 2-3 of these and get 80% of the benefit? Or, put another way, which mods have relatively the least impact?

Thanks! -Shipspeed

Also, any of you Sportivo owners have pics? Would like to see how it affects ride height.

2. SaeGai06

SaeGai06 Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(shipspeed @ May 19 2007, 09:44 PM) [snapback]445994[/snapback]</div>
    shipspeed,

To get the most bang for your buck I would first go with the Sportivo Suspension kit, which dramatically increases your steering response and firms up your ride. There has been numerous cudos from other members on different threads (ride height i believe was lowered by 1/2 - 3/4 in). Second, I would get the Lower Body brace, this brace connects to 3 points of the vehicle, 2 of the rear suspension and 1 point to the lower body. This decreases flex of the cars body when taking turns. Third, I would get the Upper Stablizer (strut) on limit the flex and stiffen the front of the vehicle during hard turns.