1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Switching to HV mode should stop the "miles remaining in EV mode" from decreasing, right?

Discussion in 'Gen 1 Prius Plug-in 2012-2015' started by baggiemama, Jul 11, 2013.

1. baggiemama

baggiemama New Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    So...I am a newbie. I am loving my 2013 piP, and have learned incredible amounts from this forum. Whoever is in charge of it, THANK YOU! I am confused about something, and hope you can help me out. Here is my situation:
    We live at the top of a steep one mile hill. By reading through other posts, I now understand WHY my gas engine kicks in while cruising downhill, even though I am driving very conservatively and have a full EV charge. That is not my question....

I'm getting to it, I promise. When I purchased the car, the salesperson mentioned that some people like to save their electric charge until the middle or end of their trip, if they know they have a lot of highway miles at the beginning. I have been experimenting with leaving my house with a full charge, and switching it into HV mode. What I don't understand is why the "miles left to drive on EV mode" (sorry, I don't have a handle on ALL of the acronyms yet) go down consistently when I drive in HV mode (conservative driving, eco mode, no fan, no a/c, 75 degrees outside, flat to mild uphill road). I am wondering if it is possible at all to "save" the EV charge until later in a trip, or is this just misinformation given to me?

Any thoughts will be appreciated. I will work through any acronyms you send my way....slowly but surely...

2. Paradox

Paradox Prius Enthusiast / Moderator
    Staff Member

Vehicle:
    2014 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five