Tech Stream Lite

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Care, Maintenance & Troubleshooting' started by DrewTech, Nov 5, 2009.

  1. 2009Prius

    2009Prius A Wimpy DIYer

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    2,704
    486
    63
    Location:
    USA
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    This greatly increased my trust on my Toyota dealer service department equipped with such a wonderful piece of software tool. :rofl:
     
    1 person likes this.
  2. usbseawolf2000

    usbseawolf2000 HSD PhD

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    14,487
    2,986
    0
    Location:
    Fort Lee, NJ
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    They are still improving it to support this new $500 hardware. The dealer should have the $3,000 hardware that works rock solid.
     
    1 person likes this.
  3. RobH

    RobH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    2,368
    970
    70
    Location:
    Sunnyvale, California
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    The zero pressure problem occurs only with Techstream set up in Canadian French mode. The workaround is to reconfigure the software for English. I imagine there will be riots about this in Quebec...:p

    Actually, the bug is that when Techstream is configured to display a comma where the English standard is to display a period, then the numbers come out as zeroes. There may be a way to just set it to periods, without having to lose the French text. So if the English presentation is "34.5", the French presentation is "34,5". I think the mechanics in Quebec can live with a comma instead of a period, at least until the next update comes out.
     
  4. wick1ert

    wick1ert Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    1,311
    183
    2
    Location:
    Delawhere
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    Has anyone actually purchased any of this yet? I put a new set of wheels, tires, and TPMS sensors on the car for the winter and had to have the dealer reprogram in the new TPMS modules. They stated they normally charge $45 for this task, but they did it free tonight because it took the tech all of 5 minutes. $45 for a 5 minute task twice a year seems kind of steep to me. Is there anyway to hack into the system and access this information? I'd rather not pay that much for the software tool. It seems to me that it's kind of dumb that Toyota will only allow 4 TPMS sensors in the database at any given time and that the typical consumer has NO way to access that information. I think the items that a normal consumer has no option but to go back to Toyota, they should have to do for free. Of course, I know this will never happen, but it seems like they've got you one way or another.
     
    Isaac Zachary likes this.
  5. tdn

    tdn Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    14
    4
    0
    Location:
    Russia
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I work with techstream no problems. Used such a cable Mangoose toyota from eobd2.com
    Now version techstream 6.01 and work fine with domestic japan cars.
     
  6. PrimeRisk

    PrimeRisk New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    19
    7
    0
    Location:
    somewhere
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Has anyone on the board purchased access to the TechStream Lite system and had success?
     
  7. The Critic

    The Critic Resident Critic

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2005
    3,136
    2,241
    0
    Location:
    CA
    Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    The Techstream works fine with the knockoff Mangoose cable.
     
  8. Greg Grieve

    Greg Grieve Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2016
    17
    6
    0
    Location:
    Pa
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    well i got the minicvi ran the toyota program code p3004 tride to reg. the thing. could not Thanks for all your help. I am done with toyota.
     
  9. Rebound

    Rebound Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    3,912
    2,515
    0
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    So your problem turned out to be a missing nut on one of the HV battery connections, right?

    Working on a car is like being a doctor: Diagnosis is everything, isn't it? Sounds like you had a frustrating experience, but you'll definitely be ready for the next repair that comes along.
     
  10. prius2serve

    prius2serve New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2017
    26
    16
    12
    Location:
    california
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    II

    Ok, First time poster here. I've owned a 2005 Prius for about a week and am diagnosing a bellow of smoke coming from under the hood in another thread. I came across this thread doing research reading to learn more about the car.

    The Mongoose Cable looks great but I thought $482 on eBay for a dongle? Knowing we live in the age of knock offs and short lived proprietary tech I searched around and found this "Non" Mongoose cable that looks to have the same specifications for $15-$20 depending on seller.

    Latest V10.30.029 MINI VCI Interface FOR TOYOTA TIS Techstream J2534 OBD2 OBDII Diagnostic Tool.

    I am wondering if this cheaper alternative might help a guy on a budget who is into fixing his own Prius. (I stopped going to the dealer 20 years ago when I got to know a service manager at a dealership and saw how savagely they ripped people off for sport.)


    Screen Shot 2017-03-01 at 8.55.23 AM.png
     
  11. dogfriend

    dogfriend Human - Animal Hybrid

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    7,512
    1,170
    0
    Location:
    Carmichael, CA
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    I bought a mini VCI on Amazon a couple of years ago. It works ok with the "modified" Techstream software. I have used it to do the coolant change on the Prius and also to diagnose a bad O2 sensor on my wife's Avalon. I haven't tried using it to do the brake bleed routine.
     
    prius2serve likes this.
  12. Currahee

    Currahee Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2016
    103
    33
    0
    Location:
    CT
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    II
    I bought the cheap cable on the left with the software included and it has worked pretty well. Programmed a key, run a bunch of motors. The only thing that didn't work was actuating the 2010 engine coolant pump. Had to put the car in inspection mode for engine coolant d&f.
     
    prius2serve likes this.
  13. prius2serve

    prius2serve New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2017
    26
    16
    12
    Location:
    california
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Cool, I'm going to give it a try!
     
Loading...