1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Technical (and legal) advice on HV battery replacement? SF Bay Area

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by Zombie_Elvis, Jul 20, 2022.

1. Zombie_Elvis

Zombie_Elvis New Member

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I'm a total noob when it comes to car maintenance, so thanks in advance for everyone's wisdom! I've reviewed a few similar threads and have a general sense of my options, but would still appreciate the explicit guidance some of you can offer.

tl;dr: Toyota dealer says codes P0A80 (weak cells) and P3018 (block 8 too weak) mean it's time for a $3,274.88 HV battery replacement. What are my other options in the SF Bay Area?

Summary of context for the battery's demise:
    • 2005 Prius with 165,000+ miles
    • Catalytic converter stolen on May 6th (no dashboard lights prior to this)
    • 1-2 months elapse coordinating with GEICO and waiting for the catalytic converter replacement to finish
    • The car rolls out of the shop with new warning lights and codes: the HV battery is now dead (because of how long it was sitting?)
    Two main questions:
    • What are my options for replacing the HV battery for less than the quoted price? I have no car DIY experience, so please recommend specific PC members or shops in the Bay Area (Oakland) that can help. I found ProjectLithium and NewPriusBatteries, for example, but would love advice on how to find a local shop to do installs if I went that route.
    • Is it worth pursuing the liability route with my insurance to see if they'll cover the cost of the battery replacement? I can argue that the HV battery is dead because of delays caused by insurance and repair, but I'm pessimistic that they'll agree and cover it.

bisco likes this.
  2. PriusCamper

PriusCamper Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Two