1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

The Crappy Manual

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by oldensign, Apr 13, 2005.

1. oldensign

oldensign Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    Five
    The 2005 Prius owners manual seems to be comprehensive, simply because of its size. I am an engineer, and I have been in technial publications since 1965. I know a slapped-together publication when I smell one. It is obvious that the book was written before the vehicle was released, and/or the writer(s) never actually ahd the chance - or the desire - to drive the thing.

The manual is loaded with statements that are simply untrue: daytime running lights, as we all know. That's just the most obvious example. Toyota apparently saved money or paper by minimizing the index to the point of uselessness. There are very few procedures where it is not necessary to go from page to page to page to page before forgetting what the heck you were looking for in the first place. The retooled owners guide available on the internet (here on Priuschat, I believe) is far superior to Toyota's effort.

The whole book cries out for a complete rewrite. It might end up 50 percent larger, but that's just too bad. The dimensions could increase, and it would still fit in the glovebox.

By an odd coincidence, I just happen to be eminently qualified to do this sort of work. It wouldn't cost much more than, oh say, $26,950 plus tax.

2. rick57

rick57 Member

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A