1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

The Grim Truth About Getting Rich...

Discussion in 'Fred's House of Pancakes' started by Mystery Squid, Jun 20, 2005.

1. Mystery Squid

Mystery Squid Junior Member

2. plusaf

plusaf plusaf

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    depends on your definitions...

here are some of mine...

http://www.plusaf.com/falklaws.htm#5th

my mom, with an 8th-grade education and some good intuition (much better than mine ever was) put me through college on a $5000 settlement from an auto accident i was in when i was about ten years old.

when i graduated college, i got a job at a basic wage that was roughly twice what my dad ever made, even up to the time he retired at age 62, in 1960. i was making about $8-9k a year in '68.

mom also consipired, through her stock market investing, to help me pay off the mortgage no my first ($24K or so) home, around 1975. In 1978, i sold it and moved to california and bought a smaller home on a smaller lot for about $97,000.

by using stock options and socking away up to 20% of my income per year, i paid off that $70K mortgage about ten or fifteen years ago, and own my home, free and clear. i retired at age 57.5, never having made more than about $110K a year, gross, before taxes, and never having paid off FICA before about September, year after year. so, i basically spent 34 years in industry, barely keeping up with the Congress' taxes and the IRSl.

today my home could be sold for about $850k, and my wife (second, and after alimony, etc. to the first one) and i are thinking of upsizing to a two-or-three times bigger house in north carolina for maybe $450k or so, but with an acre or so of land, not the 60x100 lot my no-attic-no-basement home sits on now in CA.

luck? sure. skill? some. saving like crazy? pretty much. do i have everything i want in life? pretty much.