1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Thinking of a Prius, need some questions answered..

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by Berman, Apr 19, 2007.

1. Berman

Berman New Member

first off, im a noob to this board. but I was thinking of trading in my 01 Camaro Z28 and buying a prius for gas price reasons. 1 question, is there any real passing power to a prius? or am i gonna have to hunker down in the right lane? reason i ask, I drive about 50 miles of highway to work, and need to know.

2. Godiva

Godiva AmeriKan Citizen

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    No problem. Just put your foot on the gas. I pass trucks going up hill. Of course, don't expect to get 52 mpg going 75 mph on the freeway. You'll probably only do....maybe 45 mpg.

3. Bill Merchant

Bill Merchant absit invidia

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Good reason for a test drive... The Prius has adequate passing power and can cruise well above the posted speed limit. However, many PriusChat members report that they become calmer, easier, slower drivers when they see instantly how much fuel efficiency is affected by speed. Also, since there is no shifting (and no shift kick) as your speed increases, you need to pay attention to the speedometer. The HSD constantly balances the power output of the Internal Combustion Engine with that of the two electric motors; your pressure on the accelerator tells the computer how fast you want to go – the engine may seem to be racing, which in your Z would be a bad sign, but in the Prius it means ICE power is going directly to the wheels as well as generating electricity turning the other motor to further power the wheels.

Welcome to PriusChat, Berman! Go take a test drive. Don't be afraid to step on the pedal.

4. aoc6m6

aoc6m6 New Member

<div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(Berman @ Apr 19 2007, 06:26 PM) [snapback]426408[/snapback]</div>