1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Thinking of buying my first prius

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Main Forum' started by ManOnTheMoon, Jan 14, 2018.

1. ManOnTheMoon

ManOnTheMoon Junior Member

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    Hi all,

I am new to the Prius community and I have decided to get myself a Prius for commuting - makes it more fun. I have a daily 90ish mile commute (2 hour in traffic). Originally, I thought about leasing a Prius prime but it brings up my insurance pretty high, and in the end, it was not worth it.

My budget is about ~12K. I saw a dealership post for a Prius two, one owner with 43000 miles going for $12,200.

Would that be a decent deal or is it better for me to go towards to a better trim with higher mileage (for instance a prius three with >100K miles)?

I also intend to check some mechanics around my area, and I would like to bring the purchased vehicle for a full checkup (particularly the battery, hybrid system). I have to ensure that I get my mpg worth for my commute.

Thank you for any input that you can provide..

2. ManOnTheMoon

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    Forgot to add that the year..The dealership is selling a 2011 Prius two, 43000 miles going for $12200. I also noticed on the carfax that
    "in 2014, about 19000 miles in, the car underwent
    Maintenance inspection completed
    Engine/powertrain computer/module reprogrammed
    Tire condition and pressure checked
    Tires rotated
    "

Anything that could be suspicious with the reprogramming of the modules?

#2 ManOnTheMoon, Jan 14, 2018
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2018
  3. Prodigyplace

Prodigyplace Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2017 Prius
    Model:
    Two