1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Thoughts From a New Owner

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by timmsumm, Mar 9, 2005.

1. timmsumm

timmsumm New Member

We now have 2 weeks and 1400 miles (including an 800 mile road trip to bring the car home) on our 2004 with option package BC. The best word I can find to describe this car is "sublime". Toyota has really done something amazing here. This car has transformed my daily commute from the most stressful part of my day into something I look forward to. My wife was a little weirded out when I started studying everything I could find about this car prior to acquiring it - now she's just as excited as I am. Everyone who I've given a ride in the car loves it too - including my best friend who is now buying one.

Here are the things I love about the car:

1. It's just plain fun to drive.
    2. The amount of power available is surprising. Had no problem keeping up 5 to 10 MPH over the speed limit going over the mountains on the road trip.
    3. The headlights (HID's) are the best I've ever used.
    4. It feels so good when sitting in traffic amongst the myriad of SUV's and realizing I will spend about $20 for gas in the next 2 weeks and they will spend at least 3 times that.
    5. The navigation system/MFD is endlessly entertaining (albeit distracting).
    6. The stereo is actually pretty decent (with the exception of item 1 in the stuff thats not so great below).
    7. There is more front and back seat room than in my '03 Subaru Legacy wagon.
    8. The smart key system is the best thing since sliced bread.
    9. I can actually fit a bunch of stuff in the glove compartment.
    10. It smiles at you.

Stuff that's not so great: