1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Tire Rotation

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Care, Maintenance & Troubleshooting' started by FroggyTaco, Jul 16, 2013.

1. FroggyTaco

FroggyTaco Member

Vehicle:
    2013 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    First off I tried searching but didn't find any relevant results so....

My 2013 Liftback II states in the owners manual to only rotate the tires front to back & vice versa and not in the more "typical" fronts to the rear and rears opposite fronts method that I have used on all my non-directional tire cars.

Any good reason why? Or is it a manual oversight that is meant for the 17's(are they directional?)?

Travis

2. kbeck

kbeck Active Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    Um. I've been mucking with tires on and off since 1971.

Bias ply tires: Front to back and side to side. Plus, if you have a full-sized spare, you add it to the rotation as well, if you like.
    Radial tires: Front to back and back to front. Period. No side to side stuff.

There's something about radials taking a "set". Once they have that set, moving them to other side of the car is supposed to be a bad idea.

The Prius takes only radials, as far as I know. If you've been doing your rotation trick with radials, I suspect (1) you've run through tires a lot quicker than you'd expect (increased wear) and (2) probably had reduced traction and such when you did.

KBeck

3. xliderider

xliderider Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Yeah, swapping side to side died along with bias ply tires.

SCH-I535

4. rdgrimes

rdgrimes Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2018 Prius Prime
    Model:
    N/A