1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

To trade or not to trade

Discussion in 'Fred's House of Pancakes' started by Johno, May 24, 2004.

1. Johno

Johno Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    I have a 02 VW Passat, Red with tan interior, loaded, 4 cyl turbo, leather, Monsoon JBL stereo. Beautiful car, clean with 14k miles. I have been trading in my cars for many years. I know I might get more on the street but if you figure in the sales tax savings by trading in the car, well, is it worth the hassle? I probably will get 14k to 15k for my car. It cost 24k two years ago.
    How would I sell this car if I chose not to trade it in?

2. Danny

Danny Admin/Founder
    Staff Member

Vehicle:
    2013 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    You can try posting it for sale on www.vwvortex.com, or post it in the Private Sales forum here on PriusChat. That's just a start.

3. cybele

cybele New Member

I sold my 1994 Subaru Impreza myself just before my Prius came in.

I'd never sold a car on my own (I traded in my old Camry last time).

I placed an ad with lots of pictures on an BBS (craigslist.org) and created a little geocities website for it. I priced it at exactly what Edmunds and Kelly BlueBook valued it at ($3250 - only 65K miles).

I set up an email address just to handle inquiries and only after I felt comfortable that the person was really interested, I gave them my work number and arranged to show the car from work or from a 7-11 down the street from me. I showed the car 5 times, and sold it within a week for exactly what I hoped - $3,000.

The key for me, at least, was to have lots of photos of everything available - the upholstery, bumpers, trunk space, the dash, a scan of the original window sticker, and even had a spreadsheet of all the maintenance I'd done.