1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Too much wind power

Discussion in 'Environmental Discussion' started by pewd, Jul 6, 2008.

1. pewd

pewd Clarinet Dude

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    From todays Dallas News:
    Debate flares over Wind Power in Texas

..."and even with enough transmission lines, the on-again, off-again nature of wind can leave coal and natural gas-fired power plants scrambling to fill in the gaps."...

I'm not an engineer, however, it seems that the article is ignoring the concept of power storage. Wind and solar systems need a way of storing energy for times when those systems can't produce - low wind conditions, or night (for PV systems).

How about pumping water uphill, then turning a turbine at night,
    or heating water and storing it in insulated underground tanks, then running that into heat exchange (heat pump?) systems at night or in low wind conditions.

Theres more to it than just spinning a wind turbine at times when it happens to be windy. We need some new ideas represented in our regulatory boards.

2. icarus

icarus Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A

How about plug in hybirds, buy AND selling to the grid? These acting as a big 24/7, disaggregated storage battery for wind and Solar.

(Pumping water up hill to generate hydro is a net enrgry loser.)

Icarus

3. qbee42

qbee42 My other car is a boat

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius

4. tomgraywind

tomgraywind New Member

Vehicle:
    2002 Prius
    Plug-in hybrids would be great, not so much because of the storage capability, but because they would let wind and solar power really begin to take a direct bite out of oil imports.