1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Total Noob - what do I need to know

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Technical Discussion' started by Birdums, May 31, 2007.

1. Birdums

Birdums You, me, and da Pri

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    I should be picking up my new Prius tomorrow. I've been reading here for several days, and drove an '05 last weekend, but I do not know if I could have missed something. I know there is a break-in period. I'm a bit confused about the bladder thing - I'm looking for a concise explanation of what I need to be cautious of on that one, and why. I need to be able to explain it to hubby, as he usually pumps gas for me (the fumes give me severe headaches). He's even more mechanically challenged than I am - he missed most of the teen 'car period' recovering from a car accident which put him in a 7-week coma, then was too busy trying to learn to do things like walk to get back into the groove. So we're a pretty clueless pair.

I really want to treat my new baby right... right from the start. Any advice? What should I make sure the dealer has done before I drive it off the lot?

2. priussoris

priussoris New Member

Hi and Welcome to Priuschat

The bladder in the gas tank is really not a problem, just when filling the tank DO NOT force more into the tank when it shuts off on it's own it's done dont keep trying to pump more.
    Some times it's hard to get gas to go in, it may be the pump you are using is faulty try a different station.
    use 87 octane no need to use the expensive stuff it was made to use 87 oct. if it's an 05 it is probably broke in already. Make sure the oil level is not over filled before driving it, alot of dealers will over fill the oil if too full have them remove some oil to the proper level on the dip stick NOT ABOVE the marks on the stick.

I am sure others will give some pointers to ya also.

Enjoy it

3. jimmylozza

jimmylozza New Member