1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Toyota dealer throttle dirt issue

Discussion in 'Prius v Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by Andy S., Jun 9, 2015.

1. Andy S.

Andy S. New Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    Hi all,

I had my 2012 Prius v (lowercase v for the Prius v wagon) model three 1.8L 4 Cyl. Hybrid FWD for 50K service last week in the Toyota dealership. The inspection shown 1. throttle body dirty has carbon buildup 2. fuel induction service 3. brake fluid dirty. The total cost would be $582. What is the legitimate way to fix these issues for lower cost? I am a driver who generally drive ~120 mile per day for work. Please advise. Thanks in advance!

2. valde3

valde3 Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Throttle body is pretty easy to clean. Fuel induction service is probably a bottle that you pour into gas tank. Brake fluid is pretty easy to replace if you have two persons and mini-vci.

3. rdgrimes

rdgrimes Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2018 Prius Prime
    Model:
    N/A
    Those are all standard stealership rip-off items, and they tell everyone who comes through the door that they need them at 50k. Only thing you need to do is drive away.

bisco likes this.
  4. rjparker

rjparker Tu Humilde Sirviente

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    Or you can get them done at a good independent shop for probably half the money.

Priusguy78213 likes this.
  5. bisco

bisco cookie crumbler

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    see post #3 unless you are having drivability problems.

6. valde3

valde3 Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius