1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Toyota Suspends Sales of Recalled Vehicle

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Main Forum' started by HelloMyPrius, Jan 27, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. HelloMyPrius

HelloMyPrius New Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
  2. a1a1a1

a1a1a1 Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    Yes. Only momentary acceleration, however. No accidents.

Once it happened on the freeway in the fast lane and put the fear of God in me. The other two times I was coming up on a stop sign. So three momentary events in 10k miles. All three times it was brief but definitely noticeable. The freeway event felt slightly longer, maybe because of the high speed (~75mph).

Since I have a lot of experience with cars over years and years of mechanical and restoration work, and in my career I work with advanced electronics, I don't feel that I would have any problem controlling even the most advanced car. Basically, by turning off the cruise control and a/c systems, and by rapidly toggling controls, I was able to almost immediately kick my 2010 Prius Gen. III out of its acceleration state on the freeway. The slow speed events were brief and stopped spontaneously.

I worry about other drivers, though. And, I worry about the potential for a more severe lockup where things like the joystick (gearshift) cease to provide input. (Ever been on a desktop system that crashed but the mouse still moves?)

I know it's painful to admit that this great and wonderfully advanced car might have a problem. The richly synchronized command-and-control systems inside the Prius are a technical marvel, in fact. Unfortunately, it obviously is financially damaging to recount stories that might impact resale values. And, it's a sensitive subject for someone who loves their car.