1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Toyota targeting thermal efficiency of more than 45% for next-generation gasoline engines for hybrid

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Technical Discussion' started by carpedal, Apr 14, 2011.

1. carpedal

carpedal Member

Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Five
    As a newbie, I cannot post a link. However, over at Green Car Congress, this article is very interesting. The next gen Prius engine technology is shaping up nicely.

Also, look at the latest GM hybrid transmission article. I do not believe GM is on the right path with clutches.

2 people like this.
  2. Tideland Prius

Tideland Prius Moderator of the North
    Staff Member

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    Re: Toyota targeting thermal efficiency of more than 45% for next-generation gasoline engines for hy

Wow, that's impressive. Definitely taking advantage of the batteries and electric motors to make up for the shortcomings of an ICE. I guess those who are not buying a Gen 3 and holding on to their Gen 2s will now have a reason to wait for the Gen 4!!

3. F8L

F8L Protecting Habitat & AG Lands

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    Re: Toyota targeting thermal efficiency of more than 45% for next-generation gasoline engines for hy

That's the plan. :) Unless the C is really awesome.

4. fuzzy1

fuzzy1 Senior Member

Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    1 person likes this.
  5. Tideland Prius

Staff Member

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A

But what if the 4G Prius is awesomer?? lol

6. F8L

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A

If it looks like it will be then I wait. My Gen2 can last another 5 years. :)

7. Tideland Prius

Staff Member

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A

Try another 10 or 15!

8. F8L

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A