Traction control engages at high speed

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by polodude, Dec 13, 2014.

  1. polodude

    polodude New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2014
    7
    0
    0
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    ----USA----
    Started yesterday. Dry road. Brand new Perrelli P4s . at about 60-65 traction control comes on and car starts doing the "surging"
    I had the same tires on it up to this point so except for being new,no difference.

    Any ideas?
     
  2. nh7o

    nh7o Off grid since 1980

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011
    1,686
    331
    0
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Double check that the tire pressures are all close to where they should be. Most here recommend near 40 psi for best mpg, slightly more in front than rear.
     
  3. xliderider

    xliderider Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    7,079
    2,661
    0
    Location:
    Honolulu, HI
    Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Faulty wheel speed sensor(s)?

    SCH-I535
     
  4. polodude

    polodude New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2014
    7
    0
    0
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    ----USA----
    If it is a wheel speed sensor? where are they located? anyway to test them? Are they a major PITA to change?
     
  5. 69shovlhed

    69shovlhed Surly tree hugger

    Joined:
    May 13, 2012
    2,159
    727
    0
    Location:
    sterling, VA
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    II
    The sensors are located behind the hubs on all 4 wheels. you need a scanner to read them, but before you worry about that, check your tire pressures and make sure the tire shop didn't accidently put a different size tire on your car. wouldn't be the first time a tire jockey pulled 1 or 2 wrong size tires and slapped em on the wheels without looking. generally if the wss is bad it will throw a code.
     
  6. Easy Rider 2

    Easy Rider 2 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2014
    1,584
    256
    0
    Location:
    Ocala, FL
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius c
    Model:
    Three
    Since you noticed this you HAVE checked the tire pressures......right ??

    Your profile doesn't indicate where you are but I think it is possible that cold weather, new tires and a jerk installer putting in WAY too much air might be the cause.

    If you don't find anything else, try running them at the Toyota recommended pressure for a few days or weeks until they get "broken in".
     
  7. polodude

    polodude New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2014
    7
    0
    0
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    ----USA----
    Double checked. both tires same size. Pressure is 44 . tried again today and TC kicks in about 60mph . Straight level dry road
     
  8. northwichita

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    481
    100
    29
    Location:
    Wichita KS
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    ----both tires same size---- so did you replace just one set or all 4 ? Just trying to find some size difference that could be causing this..
     
  9. polodude

    polodude New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2014
    7
    0
    0
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    ----USA----
    I replaced the two front tires. Rear tires are same size just have more wear.
     
  10. nh7o

    nh7o Off grid since 1980

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011
    1,686
    331
    0
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Try deflating the fronts a bit to compensate for their larger diameter.
     
  11. jdenenberg

    jdenenberg EE Professor

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    3,462
    1,527
    1
    Location:
    Trumbull, CT
    Vehicle:
    2020 Prius
    Model:
    LE AWD-e
    Just because tires are the same "size" doesn't mean that the rotate the same "revolutions per mile". Are the new tires the same brand/model as the old tires? If not, what brand/model tires are the old ones and the new ones?

    JeffD
     
  12. polodude

    polodude New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2014
    7
    0
    0
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    ----USA----
    Yes same exact model of tire Pirreli P4 all weather. Tires were at 34 psi at start. That is what the tire place mounted set it to.
     
  13. polodude

    polodude New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2014
    7
    0
    0
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    ----USA----
    Is there a way to test the Wheel speed sensors?
     
  14. nh7o

    nh7o Off grid since 1980

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011
    1,686
    331
    0
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    II
    You would need the mini VCI to monitor the wheel speed sensors. If there was a hard fault with one of the sensors, there would be a DTC set immediately, and the ABS and VSC lights would stay on. If one of the sensors was bumped during the tire change operation, it might have the consequences you are seeing, but I would more expect the hard type of fault in that case. To inspect them you would have to take the wheels off and have a look. Not too hard to see them.
     
    #14 nh7o, Dec 15, 2014
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2014
  15. 69shovlhed

    69shovlhed Surly tree hugger

    Joined:
    May 13, 2012
    2,159
    727
    0
    Location:
    sterling, VA
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    II
    any decent scanner can read the sensors; you hook it up to the obd port and drive with a friend to monitor the wheel speeds. know any technicians?
     
  16. GregP507

    GregP507 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2014
    3,002
    478
    0
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    Possibly a slipping torque-limiter.
     
  17. Data Daedalus

    Data Daedalus Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2013
    1,006
    1,162
    0
    Location:
    Wembley, London
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Set the front tyre pressures to 40 psi - no more than that. Set the rear tyre pressures to 38 psi. Go for an extended drive that involves cruising at the speeds you previously mentioned. Make sure the road your're doing this on is NOT a rough road. If you're still having problems, then either one of those tyres has a manufacturing fault, it's the sensors that are indeed faulty (never heard of this before....), or maybe your brakes are faulty and "grabbing".....without your knowledge and need overhauling.......also extremely rare.

    Hope that helps.
    Let us know the outcome please :)
     
  18. Data Daedalus

    Data Daedalus Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2013
    1,006
    1,162
    0
    Location:
    Wembley, London
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Do Prii have torque limiters? :confused:
     
    douglasjre likes this.
  19. jdenenberg

    jdenenberg EE Professor

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    3,462
    1,527
    1
    Location:
    Trumbull, CT
    Vehicle:
    2020 Prius
    Model:
    LE AWD-e
    Yes, there is a torque limiter between the ICE and the HSD. It rarely causes problems.

    JeffD
     
    Data Daedalus likes this.
  20. Britprius

    Britprius Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    5,194
    1,880
    0
    Location:
    Herefordshire England
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    A slipping torque limiter will also throw a DTC, but this is not the cause of the OP's problem. Also the best "new" tyres should be on the rear not the front of the car. If all the tyres are the same size apart from ware difference a scanner such as the VCI is the only way to diagnose the problem.

    John (Britprius)
     
    Data Daedalus likes this.
Loading...