1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Trade in for a Nissan Leaf or stick with my Prius?

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Main Forum' started by somebody7, Feb 7, 2013.

1. somebody7

somebody7 Member

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    I've been contemplating trading in my 2012 Prius TSS for a 2011 Nissan Leaf SL. I travel to work about 22 miles each way, so about 44 miles per day. This is pretty much the only time I use my car. Do you think I should trade it in? Any of you all have a Leaf and would like to dissuade me (or persuade me) to trade it in? Monetarily, I would come out on top with the Leaf because a used Leaf is a lot cheaper for some reason than a used Prius. I know appearance wise, the Leaf is pretty ugly, but I can get over that by putting some aftermarket rims or something to make it look a little more decent. Thoughts?

2. mad-dog-one

mad-dog-one Prius Enthusiast

Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    ----USA----
    You'll probably never save as much money on gas as you will lose swapping one car for another. Among the cars that meet your needs, get the car you want and stick with it.

JMD likes this.
  3. JimboPalmer

JimboPalmer Tsar of all the Rushers

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    In your situation, the next time I needed a car I would get a Leaf.

4. Golffor1

Golffor1 Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    I haven't ever driven the leaf but I did notice this on the maxima that I drove at one time. Nissan's come with 3 catalytic converter, I know you are thinking...man 3 those don't ever go out. Well I had one go out at 79K miles and the national warranty covered it 80K miles. Well the 2nd one went out at like 83K miles, that is is 1500 dollars. Also they come with 3 oxygen sensors...according to a toyota dealer. I have driven Toyota's since the nissan was traded in.

5. JimboPalmer

Vehicle: