1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Trying to get hybrid as fleet vehicles on my campus

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by JerzyPriusDriver, Nov 13, 2006.

1. JerzyPriusDriver

JerzyPriusDriver New Member

I am currently a student at a public college in New Jersey. One of the things that I have been working on with the Student Government (and yes, they are very welcoming to the idea) is trying to get Prii for the campus security force (they currently use gas-guzzling Dodge Durangos and Jeep Liberties). We figured since the Prius was cheaper than most of the SUVs or payback time was really short, and that SUVs are not needed for patrolling the campus (my campus is rural and security never exceeds speeds above 25), that it would be a good idea to replace them with hybrids.

My question is, is there a way to install flashing lights (they wouldn't have to put overheads, but have the tailights and headlights flash when activated) or a form of radio so that they can radio back and forth on the Prius. We would need to figure this out in order so it could be viable.

2. SomervillePrius

SomervillePrius New Member

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
  3. JerzyPriusDriver

<div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(SomervillePrius @ Nov 13 2006, 11:11 AM) [snapback]348206[/snapback]</div>
    That's even better. My campus security force are not actual police (think mallcops), so if an actual police force can do it, so can we.

4. tochatihu

tochatihu Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2001 Prius
    There have also been studies of the costs of Prius in fleet use, that would be useful in convincing the 'money people' about this decision. If you cannot find those with internet search engines, call back and we'll try to dig them up.

5. daronspicher

daronspicher Active Member

I don't know what the duties and responsibilities are for your campus cops you are trying to put into Prius.