1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Two for two in 12 months

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by Freise, Aug 14, 2017.

1. Freise

Freise New Member

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    My friend bought a used 05 prius 12 months ago. The hybrid battery died in December of 2016 with 165k on the clock. We found a used hybrid battery and I swapped it in. I'm mechanically inclined but find that the electronics side of things is a different experience from building and even tuning on ICE.
    Well, it appears the second just died, pa080 and p3015. Still in disbelief that it ate two that quickly. Is there anything I should look into that could be the culprit behind two failures? (odds are its just poor luck since they are used)

I hate to invest several hundred on the equipment to recondition the battery pack, especially because I've never done it before and am not confident in my ability to troubleshoot electrical problems easily should things not go to plan, and it also seems that it needs to be done repeatedly in order to be successful and worth it, which is difficult as I'm not the owner.

Correct me if I'm wrong, but combining the two bad battery packs is not as simple as swapping out the bad module for a good one from the other pack? They have to be within an acceptable voltage of one another and so may not necessarily be compatible? Anyone have some good literature they want to spoon feed me on this subject?

2. bisco

bisco cookie crumbler

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    poor luck, most likely. the only way to get solid performance is new, unless you personally knew the history of the used battery.

3. JC91006

JC91006 Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    II