1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Two Lanes merge into one

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by NoMoShocks, Jul 13, 2007.

?
  1. 1/2 mile after the lane marking ends like California (Yellow Arrow)

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. 1/2 mile before the lane marking ends like Oregon (Blue Arrow)

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. At the location where the lane ends - Call me Crazy Larry (Green Arrow)

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  4. Anywhere I want, I am a public trasit driver (Red Arrow)

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  5. Who cares, why did you waist our time on this topic? - No arrow for you!

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  6. I blow my horn if people try to pass me 250 feet before the lane ends (Post your phone number too, P

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  7. Other, explain

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. NoMoShocks

NoMoShocks Electrical Engineer

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    I am curious what the general population thinks it the correct point to merge into the other lane, if the lane you are driving in is ending.

Us Vulcons have always felt that the logical point would be at the location were the dashed white lane marking between the two lanes ends. But most people around here are not from Vulcan and like merge in much much (1/2 mile) earlier, leaving a whole 12 ft by 2500 foot section of lane pavement completely waisted.

I can drive for that 1/2 mile at Warp 10 (35 mph) while the other two lanes are using their Inpulse Engines (5 mph), but it really torques people off. I got the idea for this Poll because someone blew their horn at me for passing them at the location of the Purple arrow below when there was a ton of space in front of them and I could get by very cautiously.

I don't know why more people don't join my way of thinking until all three lanes can go 10 MPH instead of two at 5 mph and one at 35 mph.