1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Two quick bike rack/rear hitch questions

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by sbasaman, Jun 16, 2005.

1. sbasaman

sbasaman New Member

I am looking into getting a bike rack for my Prius and I am trying to decide between the Saris Bones rack or a hitch mount. My questions are thus;

1. How easy is it to remove the bike rack from the hitch mount? Obviously, removing the mount itself is a major task, but I just want to be able to get the rack itself on and off relatively quickly so I don't have it on the car when I'm not transporting bikes. Unfortunately, I'm new to biking as well as Prius ownership, so I'm not sure how the rack itself attaches to the hitch mount

2. Has anyone noticed a major difference in gas mileage or any other operational problems with the hitch mount?

Thanks!
    sean.

2. gordonr

gordonr Member

I'm still waiting for my Prius, but have already ordered the hitch receiver. On the hitch bike rack I've used, it takes less than a minute to install or remove the rack. You just place the end of the rack into the receiver and position it so the threaded hole on the rack lines up with the hole on the receiver. You then take the captive bolt and screwed it in with a final tightening with a wrench. Atleast 10x faster than installing a roof rack with bike holders. Never used a Saris Bones so can't comment on it's speed.

3. KTPhil

KTPhil Active Member

I installed a Coastal 2" receiver hitch last weekend, and bought a Thule 4-bike rack this week, though I haven't assembled it yet. It appears to be a 60-second operation involving one bolt. I think I'll buy a wrench to keep with the car for that purpose.

4. KTPhil

KTPhil Active Member

I mounted a Thule Hitching Post Pro 4-bike rack (934XT) to a Coastal 2" receiver hitch. So far, so good!
    [​IMG]