1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

"Understanding your tax return"

Discussion in 'Fred's House of Pancakes' started by cmympg, Dec 11, 2005.

1. cmympg

cmympg Who knows? Who cares?

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Ok, I've been reading many posts on the tax credit vs. tax deduction for the Prius. It appears that many posters are confused about several definitions used in the discussions. I've been doing taxes for over 10 years and teaching tax courses for about 5 so I know my way around a 1040. It might be possible that I can clear up some of these misconceptions/misunderstandings. I sincerely hope that no one believes that I am insulting their intelliegence by posting this information. I am making it very basic in hopes of answering more questions than I am creating. That is assuming that someone reads this post. :)

If you look at a 2004 Form 1040 (I'm using a 2004 1040 since its the most commonly used form and none of us has completed our 2005), the deduction for a clean fuel vehicle is taken on line 35 (yes, you just write Clean Fuel on the dotted line and take the deduction in the column at the right). The deduction reduces your total income along with things like IRA deductions, educator expenses, student loan interest, 1/2 of SE tax, etc. to arrive at adjusted gross income (AGI). AGI appears on line 36 at the bottom of the first page of the 1040.

Turning to page 2 of the 1040, the first line is again AGI (just to make it easier for those who don't use software to do the math). Your taxable income appears on line 42. This is the income on which you pay taxes. It is your AGI minus your standard deduction/itemized deductions and personal exemptions.