1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Unusual situation... battery or impatient driver?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Technical Discussion' started by kallen, Jun 8, 2017.

1. kallen

kallen New Member

Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    One
    Hello! I am a newbie and really appreciate all of the kind people and Prius experts to share their valued knowledge on this website! My better half just purchased a 2009 Prius, with 95,000 miles, from Houston City's surplus fleet, at auction. According to their clerk, their mechanics are very proactive about maintaining their vehicles. Unfortunately, the car sat for close to three months prior to be auctioned, due to the bureaucracy of auctioning their surplus cars.

Fortunately, the car started with no problems and had no warning lights. The car ran without any issues for close to 900 miles. However, after making a 15 minute stop at Walmart, I noticed that the master warning light, hybrid battery light and brake light all went off simultaneously, after restarting it. This is after I had driven almost non-stop for the previous 900 miles! About 30 seconds later, the brake light went off.

Prior to this (about 15 minutes before), I noticed the car having difficulty accelerating over some of northern New Mexico's steep 9,000 foot peaks... no problems before these high peaks.

After restarting it and for the last 50 miles homes, the car drove perfectly (despite warning lights on).