1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

used Gen II vs. used Gen III- which to buy?

Discussion in 'Dealers & Pricing' started by greenmonsterfan, Mar 9, 2011.

1. greenmonsterfan

greenmonsterfan New Member

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    Hi. I'm new to car forums, but I'm hoping this will help me decide!!

I'm looking at a Gen II- a 2005 with about 93k miles for around $11k.

I'm also looking at a Gen III- a 2010 Prius II with 35k miles (it was a rental) for about $20k.

I personally am leaning towards the 2010 since there's a good chunk of the warranty remaining, but my husband thinks the 2005 is a really good deal. I can afford either car... that's not really the issue since I'm pre-approved for a loan, but I don't know what's the better deal.

The one HUGE thing I didn't like about the 2005 is when I test drove it at night, the spedometer display reflected against the windshield right into my line of vision... it would actually make it hard for me to see right in front of me without being slightly distracted.

The thing the the 2010 is I just don't know if that's a good deal since it was a rental and all...

Then there's my third option- continue to fix up my '89 Volvo 240 wagon until it rusts off the road.

any advice/comments would be HUGELY appreciated!!

2. MJFrog

MJFrog Active Member

Vehicle:
    2018 Nissan LEAF
    Model:
    N/A