1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

vehicle protection plan

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Main Forum' started by greencat, Aug 25, 2012.

1. greencat

greencat New Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    I'm a newbie...Just made a deal I am happy with because of your help. I paid just over 25k for a Blizzard white III thanks to all of you for advice on same, When I get my debit card that I learned about from this site, it will be less than 25k. Now I am wondering about the vehicle protection plan?? Any comments

2. PriusCamper

PriusCamper Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    They're a money maker for the people who sell it to you... Most everyone who buys them never uses them because most all Prius are very reliable... Of course a Prius can rack up a huge repair bill fast if something serious breaks so the protection you buy is definitely more worthwhile than if you were buying a more simple car.

And most notable on PriusChat you can meet people who have a quarter-million miles on their Prius with nothing but basic maintenance. I'd suggest putting the extra money you'd pay for extended protection into a bank account and then add a $100 to it every month and if you're one of the less than 5% of owners who end up with a $5K+ repair bill hopefully that account will cover it. Protecting yourself this way is way more wise because more than likely you won't have to spend that money and you'll be able to use it for a down payment on your next car 8 years from now! :)

3. Judgeless

Judgeless Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    You will find many people here that have wasted $2,500 on an extended warranty and another $1,500 on a pre paid maintenance plan. They will defend their purchase to the end.