Video resolution of the MFD

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Technical Discussion' started by paul.villasenor, Sep 25, 2006.

  1. paul.villasenor

    paul.villasenor Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2006
    25
    0
    0
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Does anyone know what resolution(s) the MFD on the '07 Prius supports for RGB video vs. composite/S-video? I'm planning on installing a computer (Mac mini) primarily for media purposes, and I'd rather not have to deal with CAN-view and scan converter when I can just plug in the mini as an external video source (like a DVD player) after installing something like Coastal's Ultimate Lockpick.

    BTW, I may install CAN-view at a later time. I don't have the car yet, so I figure I'll get used to it first.


    Thanks!
     
  2. keydiver

    keydiver New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2005
    509
    2
    0
    Location:
    Hobe Sound, Florida
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Well, since no one actually HAS a 2007 Prius yet to check, we don't know. But, if it is like the new, 2006 MFD (Package 2 and above), I would *assume* that the MFD is composite input for the camera, which is how I hacked into it.
     
  3. Tideland Prius

    Tideland Prius Moderator of the North
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    42,860
    14,338
    41
    Location:
    Canada
    Vehicle:
    2018 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Technology
    I would google Prius and Mac Mini. someone has done it before but I don't recall the URL. Sorry!
     
  4. paul.villasenor

    paul.villasenor Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2006
    25
    0
    0
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(Tideland Prius @ Sep 25 2006, 05:02 PM) [snapback]324904[/snapback]</div>
    Thanks, Tideland, but I know it's been done. Actually Jeremy Kusnetz's Mac Prius project is what inspired me to try this. However, he used a CAN-view and a scan converter in order to get the computer's display on the MFD (using RGB). His reason for going with the CAN-view is to use the MFD's touch screen as an interface. I'm planning to use Mac's remote and a wireless keyboard/trackball instead. Anyway, I'd like to go with a simpler composite video interface to avoid the extra hardware, but I was wondering if there would be a difference in resolution. I was hoping someone had/saw a spec document on the MFD by any chance.
     
  5. jkusnetz

    jkusnetz New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    55
    0
    0
    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(PaulV @ Sep 25 2006, 06:20 PM) [snapback]324955[/snapback]</div>
    It's me :)

    I've seen a bunch of different answers on what the resolution is, although I know the 2006+ has a much higher res then mine. It doesn't matter though if you are just going to do composite or s-video in, it's just the standard NTSC signal (not sure off hand what it is) If you do go that route be SURE you get a video input that does s-video not just composite as the s-video picture will be MUCH sharper then composite. It may be even close to the RGB signal I'm getting out of the scan converter.
     
  6. jeffreys

    jeffreys New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    1
    0
    0
    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(keydiver @ Sep 25 2006, 09:56 AM) [snapback]324756[/snapback]</div>
    HEY!!! <_<

    *I* have a 2007 Prius! Black. Package 2, picked it up on Tuesday September 26th. (My dealer received it on Saturday the 23rd, but they had to detail it before I could pick it up.)

    But I have no idea what the screen resolution is.
     
  7. paul.villasenor

    paul.villasenor Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2006
    25
    0
    0
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(jkusnetz @ Sep 28 2006, 04:22 PM) [snapback]325222[/snapback]</div>
    I'm trying to find a solution that lets me send S-video to the MFD, but all I can find are references to Jeremy's Mac Prius! :) Anyone have any leads?
     
  8. sl7vk

    sl7vk Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2006
    518
    22
    0
    Location:
    Salt Lake City
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(PaulV @ Sep 28 2006, 05:00 PM) [snapback]325238[/snapback]</div>
    Keydiver has done it on an 06. Nobody else that I've heard of.
     
  9. TheForce

    TheForce Ron Paul 2012

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    3,454
    469
    0
    Location:
    Wheelersburg, Ohio
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(sl7vk @ Sep 28 2006, 05:50 PM) [snapback]325254[/snapback]</div>
    As far as I know Keydiver had a composit input not s-video. The MFD has a composit input for the camera and that is what he was using. As far as I know you will need to convert the s-video to composit to view it on the screen.
     
  10. jkusnetz

    jkusnetz New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    55
    0
    0
    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(PaulV @ Sep 28 2006, 05:00 PM) [snapback]325238[/snapback]</div>
    When I was researching things I had found avelectronics

    I have no idea if it works with the 2006+ or not. If it does that may be the way to go!
     
  11. nylion

    nylion New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2006
    167
    61
    0
    Location:
    Seattle WA
    Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(theforce @ Sep 28 2006, 06:11 PM) [snapback]325265[/snapback]</div>
    On a screen the size of the MFD, composite video is going to appear pretty much the same as S video. You get more horizontal resoluton with S-video, but most of the perceived increase in quality is due to the chroma being separated from the rest of the signal. This generally improves the picture on a standard TV. On a good monitor, composite video looks just as good. Certainly on the little MFD, you probably can save yourself a lot of hassle and get a great picture using the composite video input.
     
  12. DaveinOlyWA

    DaveinOlyWA 3rd Time was Solariffic!!

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    15,140
    610
    0
    Location:
    South Puget Sound, WA
    Vehicle:
    2013 Nissan LEAF
    Model:
    Persona
    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(Jeff Snodgrass @ Sep 28 2006, 01:30 PM) [snapback]325226[/snapback]</div>
    congrats on your new addition... i see we have not updated the options for Priuschat user configurations yet
     
  13. VinceDee

    VinceDee Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    198
    0
    0
    I second the request for the actual screen resolution for the '07.

    I spent half the night last night trying to find out what the resolution is (on google and priuschat) but could only find a reference by the Mac Mini Prius guy that the older screen is 640x480, nothing that indicates what the new screen is.

    I'd like to know, not because of using a composite video source, but because I'd eventually like to connect a carputer to the MFD, using it as my display.

    It's surprising that I this isn't a more often discussed topic, considering how geek-tech the Prius is.
     
  14. hammermill

    hammermill Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2006
    16
    0
    0
    Location:
    Imperial Beach, CA
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Add me to list of inquiring minds that would like to know. It does strike me as strange to say the least that no one seems to know (or at least be willing to divulge) the pixel count of the higher res LCD, especially considering that it's been around since the '06 was introduced. I can't say I'd be so brave as to try some of the mods discussed here, but I can always use more info!
     
Loading...