1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Wa State non-dealership work?

Discussion in 'Local Prius Club Main Forum' started by pachterman, Apr 8, 2006.

1. pachterman

pachterman New Member

Hi -- I'm new to participating in PriusChat, although I've lurked for awhile. After perusing the list, I'm wondering if anyone has found non-dealership mechanic working on hybrids? Have any of the Toyota-trained people defected and opened their own shops?

I go to Toyotya of Lake City and while they are OK, I'd prefer to get off of the dealership treadmill.

thanks.

MEAPHOTOG

2. jeromep

jeromep Member

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(meaphotog @ Apr 8 2006, 01:55 PM) [snapback]236901[/snapback]</div>
    Anyone can do basic maintenance on the Prius. Oil changes and such are very normal. I suppose replacing brake pads wouldn't be an issue. However anything that is more complicated than changing the oil or doing a normal brake job is going to require the dealer. The dealer has the Toyota Hand Held Tester which is a really expensive device that is able to fully interface with the Prius and manipulate nearly every aspect of the electronic control of the vehicle. That one device is the limiting factor that prevents independent shops from being able to fully service the vehicle.

The gad news is that you are on the dealer treadmill with this car, but only for major service needs.

3. hdrygas

hdrygas New Member

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(meaphotog @ Apr 8 2006, 01:55 PM) [snapback]236901[/snapback]</div>