1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Ways To Be Wary Of Draining The Battery

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by Harper, Mar 10, 2005.

1. Harper

Harper New Member

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Hi All-

I'm 16 days into owning my brand-spanking-new 2005 Prius, Tideland Pearl, Package #6. Needless to say, I'm in heaven! Just had the windows tinted, interior scotch-guarded and the exterior clear-coated. WoooHoo!
    I have a question though......Since I am new to the World of Prius, what are the ways of driving/storing (long and short term) my vehicle so that I do NOT drain the battery or damage the vehicle in any way? Any tips on getting the most out of my Prius are appreciated also. I LOVE THIS SITE!

2. NuShrike

NuShrike Active Member

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    Five
    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(Harper\";p=\"71330)</div>
    Drive like you would any other car.

3. V8Cobrakid

V8Cobrakid Green Handyman

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Do you have the Smart Entry system? if long term storage, disable it with the button under the steering wheel. Use the key to lock the car, and it's now stored. Short term (less than 3 weeks i believe) then no worry..... or was it 3 months.. *shrug* if over a month of being stored, make sure to turn the Smart Entry off

btw.. you didn't need to have the interior scotch guarded.. not the seats anyways.

Glad you like your car. Make sure to keep in mind that there is a breaking in period for good gas mileage. For me it was almost 20k miles. Some report 15k. i think it's more around 20k for a final break in. 40's is normal mpg till then. :)

Enjoy :)

4. Harper

Harper New Member

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    N/A