1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

WE CAN'T CHANGE YOUR OIL / you have the WORLD FLUID in there...

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by KD6HDX, Sep 29, 2007.

1. KD6HDX

KD6HDX New Member

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    This is my first time starting a topic:

Yesterday, I took our 05 Prius to Longo Toyota here in So Cal. I wanted a transmission fluid drain and refill, and my coolant system to be drained, flushed and refilled with new coolant. 2 hours later, my car is ready and the price was a lot lower than I thought it should be. I looked at the paperwork and discovered they only performed the radiator coolant drain flush and fill job order. The reason given for not completing the transmission fluid change was stated as, "HAS WORLD FLUID, NOT ABLE TO CHANGE IT".

I paid the lower price and then asked to speak to the service writer, who said, "they can't even check the oil or replace it, it has the world fluid". I said, but I like to do preventive maintenance and I already have 70K miles in 2 years of ownership and I want the fluid changed. He was polite and stuck to his story.

This is the dealer where I bought the car from. I have the extended warranty, and I just want my Prius to last a long time. I mentioned all that to the service writer and he agreed with me, but said his technicians could not do the job. I said OK, and scratched my head while I drove home from the dealer. Let me say that I really like Longo Toyota, they are a first class operation and I trust there opinions. But I want to know from any of the hybrid trained technicians here on PC what they think of this.

Can somebody tell me if I should accept this or demand a fluid change? Why did this dealer deny me the service and should I be OK with it?

Riddle me this Batman.......

2. efusco

efusco Moderator Emeritus
    Staff Member

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A