1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Weight capacity for trunk

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Main Forum' started by dhaval1981, May 17, 2011.

1. dhaval1981

dhaval1981 New Member

Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Hi guys, I sell wine for a living and carry cases of wine in the car at times and not just your normal case I'm talking 4lt jug cases, is it safe to have them stacked just on one side in the trunk, cause I heard the floor is some type of platic and may cave in, handling aside do you really think there will be a problem ?

Also what is the weight capacity for just the truck if anyone has any ideas ?

2. cwerdna

cwerdna Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    I'm not sure why you "heard the floor is some type of platic". You can easily tell what material the rear cargo floor is made out of by lifting it up. I suppose you could place something over the top to help w/distributing the load across a larger area.

I can't speak for the trunk only, but the max load capacity of the 3rd gen Prius, including drivers and passenger(s) is 825 lbs (at least per Consumer Reports).

3. dhaval1981

dhaval1981 New Member

Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Yeah I guess I could have checked myself, was smart enough to buy a Prius, but not check that myself lol

4. bisco

bisco cookie crumbler

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    i 've had a few hundred lb's back there no prolemo. you might wanna throw in a sheet of 1/2" ply if you're gonna stack em on one side.

5. sipnfuel

sipnfuel New Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    II
    IIRC, the payload capacity is about 700 lb - 800lb including driver.

If you fold down the rear seats and put down couple pieces of cardboard or a cut-to-size sheet of plywood, I imagine you can carry about 55 jugs of wine if they weigh about 9-10 lb each.