1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

What’s the OBD magic combo for 2021 Prius LE Hybrid OBD?

Discussion in 'Gen 4 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by MonkeeMan, Feb 5, 2024.

1. MonkeeMan

MonkeeMan New Member

Vehicle:
    2021 Prius
    Model:
    LE
    Hi all! I’m new to Prius annd to OBD use. Seems that finding info about this car is difficult as searches usually bring up Prius Prime LE, and when I search for OBD/app reccos they all talk about Gen 2 or maybe Gen 3.

I’m also learning that how you match up an OBD unit and which app you choose is critical to getting full access to the car’s information. For ex, I have a VeePeak OBD with Torque Pro, and they don’t seem to be compatible to show me the HV battery voltage info. Who knew?

What are some OBD/app combos (iOS or Android) that will give me full info on this Prius, please? Thanks!

2. sylvaing

sylvaing Active Member

Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    Yeah, the veePeak is cheap, get the vLinker MC+. It's not much more expensive then the veePeak but way more powerful. I don't see any difference between it and my ODBLink LX I have in my Model 3. The vLinker is about half the price of the OBDLink. It works just as well (and fast) with Hybrid Assistant as well.

3. MonkeeMan

MonkeeMan New Member

Vehicle:
    2021 Prius
    Model:
    LE
    Thank you! Have you used and found any real difference in apps other than their cost or presentation? I don’t mind spending a bit of money if what I’ll get in return is filling formation access. What I don’t favor is a subscription app, but I know several of them are. I had someone on Reddit give me a link to a bootleg Techstream, but I can’t ever see myself DLing booted software and giving access to my car! Yikes!!

4. sylvaing

sylvaing Active Member

Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Plug-in Base