1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

What all devices in prius will affect gas mileage?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Audio and Electronics' started by poodlemaster, Jan 9, 2007.

1. poodlemaster

poodlemaster New Member

i love my new 07 prius, and my wife and i are driving very conservatively to get the best gas mileage, but what electronic devices will actually affect the gas mileage?

1. radio
    2. heater
    3. a/c
    4. headlights
    5. wipers
    6. or anything else i may have missed

thanks for the help. i'm a little new to the whole hybrid process.

2. qbee42

qbee42 My other car is a boat

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Mileage is a matter of power consumption; only devices that consume large amounts of energy have a significant impact. On your list, the A/C and heater are the main culprits, although in the case of the heater it's not the electrical load so much as the fuel being burned to make heat.

Tom

3. ScottY

ScottY New Member

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    I think the top MPG killers are the heater, a/c, and headlights.

When you demand heat, the engine needs to run and consume fuel.

While the a/c is electric, it still consumes fair amount of power (I've seen current drain up to 10Amps in the summer).

The headlights use around 2 Amps. While not a lot, when you are sitting in traffic, they can drain the HV battery down faster.

Others on your list are negligible, IMHO.

4. Charles Suitt

Charles Suitt Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Four