1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

what are the different ccl and dcl for all the models?

Discussion in 'Newbie Forum' started by sergbot, Oct 2, 2023.

1. sergbot

sergbot Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I've been driving prius 2 for three years, got it from an auction at 170k miles, eventually the regenerator died, the dash lights died, the battery died because of the regenerator, and i think the timing chain got stretched or the piston rings got sized because the engine started running rich while reading lean and I was going through o2 sensors like crazy. Also got my cat stolen in the middle of that. Ended up just driving the car to the junk yard and getting $150. It did serve me well, it cost me almost nothing and I drove it to 240k miles at 35 mpg.

Anyway I got a prius 3 now and I only now noticed and realized there is a thing called dcl and ccl, charge current limit, discharge current limit, when the soc gets too high or too low, the computer will set a hard limit on how much current it will allow to enter or leave the battery. That's all good but the prius 3 ccl, or maximum regenerative braking is 21 kw. Which is a problem because car brakes can produce like 400kw of stopping power. If you do brake 20 times slower to stop over time, yeah you could capture all of that energy, however in most cases you're not going to be able to do that without being a hinderance on the road. So a lot of energy is being left on the table.