1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

What can I use for a "cargo net" to protect the kids?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by vfrben, Aug 10, 2006.

1. vfrben

vfrben Junior Member

I'm a newbie here, and this is my first post. We have a long car trip coming up, and things will be packed pretty high in the back... higher than the roll-out cover. Is there some kind of cargo net or pet gate that can stretch across the back, just behind the passenger seats, that would keep stuff from flying forward into the kids in the event of a quick stop?

Thanks, Ben
    2006 Pkg. 5

2. Agontyr

Agontyr New Member

<div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(vfrben @ Aug 10 2006, 11:37 PM) [snapback]301297[/snapback]</div>
    Welcome, Ben.

There's no net that stretches across the back of the car that I know of, but there are LOTS of cargo nets available in most auto parts stores like Pep Boys that will go -over- a pretty large mound of stuff. I've got one that I'll be using one with a couple of bungee cords for extra length when needed.

It might help you lower the height of the pile if you remove the cargo area floor and start your packing in the space below it. Also, since you won't be using the roll-over cover, leaving it home may give you more room below/behind the top edge of the rear seat.

3. Bearcatzzz

Bearcatzzz Junior Member

<div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(vfrben @ Aug 10 2006, 08:37 PM) [snapback]301297[/snapback]</div>
    I don't remember the title of the thread, but I saw a recent post w/pictures about somebody installing a pet gate in the back of their prius. I did a quick search, but I couldn't find the thread. If I remember correctly they took a pet fence divider designed for a Minivan (i think) and installed it so that it would fit the prius. Sorry, I can't be of much help. I have some ideas but this owner had actually done it. Good luck.

4. j24816

j24816 New Member