1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

What is maintenance is really necessary ?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by FishHawk, Jun 3, 2006.

1. FishHawk

FishHawk New Member

I work as a shuttle drive at a Honda/ Toyota dealership and a service rep told me that most of the required maintenance is a lot of fluff. A money maker for the dealership. The most important thing is to change the oil, rotate the tires and inspect the brakes. So, what if any other things should be checked out in your opinion on the Prius? FishHawk

2. ScottY

ScottY New Member

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    <div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(FishHawk @ Jun 3 2006, 12:52 PM) [snapback]265177[/snapback]</div>
    Please refer to the maintenance book that comes with the car or this link, http://smg.toyotapartsandservice.com/owners.php

3. tumbleweed

tumbleweed Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    I would agree, of course you do need to check the fluid levels i. e. brake fluid, both coolants, fill the windshield washer, check the tire pressures, etc. The big important services such as changing spark plugs and coolants should be done as recommended. I tend to think the PSD fluid should be changed also, although I don't know how often.

I don't think you need to rotate tires every 5K miles and brakes, especially on this car, don't need to be inspected anywhere near that often. I usually rotate the tires once or twice during their lifetime. The best way to "inspect" your brakes may be to take the car out to a empty stretch of highway and brake as hard as you can from normal highway speed to a stop. Then you will know the ABS is functioning correctly.

4. tochatihu

tochatihu Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2001 Prius
    Changing the PSD fluid was originally not part of the US maintenance plan, but some people are suggesting this at 60-90k mile intervals.